Review- The Aftermath RJ Prescott

 

aftermath blog tourafterath
Published on 2nd June | Paperback Original £8.99
**Contains brand new BONUS content – exclusive to the print edition
Synopsis:
When you’ve got nothing, you’ve got nothing to lose. But what happens when you have everything you ever

wanted? You fight to keep it.
Cormac “the Hurricane” O’Connell’s star is on the rise. Billed as the most promising young boxer of his generation,
his new career is taking him to places he never dreamed. But O’Connell only needs one thing in life: his wife. In her
final year of college, Em cannot follow him around the world but together they make it work.
Just when everything they ever wanted is on the horizon, the past resurfaces to haunt them and O’Connell realises that
justice might not be a part of his happy ever after.
He couldn’t protect Em once before, but in the aftermath of the hurricane, he will make sure that never happens again.
A swoon-worthy romance perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Nora Roberts.

My Review- 4.5 stars.

Although I had a couple of issues with the Hurricane I was really looking forward to more from Em and Con, the characters had made a mark in my heart and almost felt like family. so I threw myself into the Aftermath and I read it in one sitting. It’s an easy and enjoyable read.
I actually enjoyed book two more than book one as Con didn’t seem as sickly sweet in this offering, that maybe because it was written from his POV or maybe just because the characters were already well established in my head that I overlooked certain characteristics.
You’d think from book one Em and Con have faced enough bad stuff and they’d get their happily ever after but Prescott obviously didn’t want to give it to us so easily, the pair go through even more in the aftermath and it’s a story of not being the girl that gets knocked down but being the girl who gets back up. Em has real strength within this book, ironically in a book full of hot fighters and heavyweight challengers it’s the mental fight of Em that had me most impressed.
Con was a swoonworthy as ever, he had some epic oneliners and his love for Em is beautiful. I adore the relationship between the characters, it’s not just a story of romantic love, it’s one of family love too and how sometimes the best family are the ones we choose ourselves. I truly think this series will get better with each book , the more I learn about the characters the more I want from them. I can’t wait for book three.
Add to goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25101535-the-aftermath
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s